Legal action started against Member States late in implementing new EU telecoms rules

The European Commission has started legal action against 20 Member States that have not notified measures to implement the new EU telecoms rules into national law. Letters of formal notice under EU infringement procedures were sent to states that have failed to notify said measures by 25 May 2011.

Among the 20 infringing countries are  Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, The Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia and Spain.

Only seven states, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Ireland, Malta, Sweden and the UK, have notified the European Commission that they have implemented the new telecoms rules into their legislation in full.

The new EU telecoms rules bring more regulatory certainty to the single European market and give businesses and consumers new rights in connection with phones, mobile services and Internet access.

Infringing Member states must reply to the letters in 2 months. If they fail to do so or if the Commission is not satisfied with the answer, it can send the Member States concerned a formal request to implement the legislation and ultimately refer them to the Court of Justice of the European Union.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *